All applicants must follow the joint application procedure as established by the NOHA consortium. Candidates are chosen on the basis of the quality of their education and professional background, their experience in and concern for humanitarian issues, their multicultural sensitivity and their linguistic abilities.


  • Candidates must have completed a good level first or second cycle degree.
  • Candidates should be able to present proof of language proficiency in English on a C1 level (according to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages – CEFR) or equivalent (IELTS: 6-7 or TOEFL: 550-600 paper, 215-250 computer, 93-120 internet).
  • Selection criteria include motivation, academic qualifications, language skills, research and professional experience.
  • Practical experience in the area of humanitarian action in governmental, inter-governmental and/or non-governmental organisations and institutions is not required, but is valued.

Master studies in Humanitarian Action offered by University of Warsaw are part of the NOHA Joint Master’s Programme. All applications must be made on-line on the NOHA website ( Applications MUST include the following documents:

  • Certified copy of Diploma and, if available, Diploma Supplement (if not in English, please attach an official translation),
  • Certified copies of academic transcripts (if not in English, please attach an official translation),
  • Curriculum Vitae (Europass model:,
  • Photocopy of a valid passport (only the main pages),
  • 2 reference letters (in English).

The NOHA Master’s programme has been proudly supported by the European Union for over a decade. It was one of the first 19 Master programmes selected at the start of the Erasmus Mundus programme in 2004. In 2017, the European Union has renewed its support to the NOHA master’s course for a period of 4 years, including scholarships funding for 3 course editions, the first one starting in September 2018.

18 scholarships will be funded by the European Union; 4 are targeted to students from Program Countries*, and 14 are targeted to students from Partner countries*.

In addition, there is 1 scholarship available for each of the following groups of partner countries:

  • ENI EAST (Region 2)
  • ENI South (Region 3)
  • Asia – LDC countries (Region 6: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Nepal)
  • Latin America LMI countries (Region 8: Bolivia, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Paraguay)
  • Latin America – remaining countries (Region 8: Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Panama, Peru, Uruquay, Venezuela)
  • Gulf Countries (Region 12)
  • ACP countries (Region 11)

According to Erasmus+ rules students at Master level can apply to a maximum of three different programmes. Both, students and potential scholars/guest lecturers should contact the relevant institution for more information on courses and application procedures.

 Partner Country students scholarshipsProgram Country students scholarships
Contribution to travel and installation
3000 € per year if residence less than 4000 km from home university location

4000 € per year if residence more than 4000 km from home university location
1000 € per year
Contribution to the participation costs (including insurance coverage)6000 € per year4500 € per year
Monthly allowance (24 maximum)1 000 € / month1000 € / month

In academic year 2017/2018

12,000 € one-off fee for the whole study programme (4 semesters) to be paid to the Network

25 students

read also

About NOHA

NOHA seeks to increase the effectiveness and quality of humanitarian action through the provision of excellence and internationally recognised education, research and training...

About the Programme

The Master Programme in Humanitarian Action (HA) provides students with a broad education and training in the area of international humanitarian action, in which critical…